GRM Rated Awards 2021 – Nominations Revealed

GRM Rated Awards
Britain’s premier award ceremony for UK Rap & Grime, the Rated Awards returns to celebrate the best talent in the UK music scene over the last 12 months at a virtual ceremony streaming on Thursday 16th September at 7pm BST.
Today, GRM Daily announce the nominations for this year’s awards, with AJ Tracey, Headie One, slowthai, ENNY, Stormzy, Shaybo, Ghetts, Abra Cadabra, Central Cee and Pa Salieu amongst those with multiple nods each. With awards spanning over ten categories, from Breakthrough and Video of the Year to Album and Personality of the Year, the nominations for the 2021 Rated Awards honour some of the UK scene’s biggest names and their achievements between 1st June 2020 to 1st June 2021. Voting opened today and fans can head to to cast their votes. Voting will close on the 17th August.
AJ Tracey, Headie One & Pa Salieu lead the nominations with four nominations each. AJ Tracey & Headie One are up for Male Artist, Track of the Year, Video of the Year and the prestigious Album of the Year categories while Pa Salieu is nominated in Breakthrough of the Year, Track of the Year, Video of the Year and Mixtape of the Year categories, following what has been an incredible year for each artist, with numerous accolades and chart successes under their belt. They face strong competition from slowthai, Central Cee, Ghetts and Abra Cadabra alongside an array of female nominees across categories including Little Simz, Shaybo, Lady Leshurr, ENNY, Jorja Smith and Stefflon Don. The Breakthrough category is set to be hotly contested with a strong shortlist including ArrDee, ENNY, Pa Salieu, Shaybo and Central Cee. Full list of nominations below.
GRM founder Post says: ‘Excited to be back celebrating the best in UK Rap & Grime music. It’s been an incredible year in music, congratulations to all of this year’s nominees.’
Returning in 2021 for its 6th year, this year’s GRM Daily Rated Awards will showcase a broad range of the hottest upcoming and established artists and is guaranteed to provide a selection of iconic performances that simply wouldn’t be seen at other award ceremonies. Broadcast exclusively on YouTube, the awards will be a must-see event with a carefully curated line up of unmissable live performances yet to be announced.
The Rated Awards were founded by GRM Daily, an award-winning platform at the epicentre of UK Rap & Grime music culture since 2009. An outlet where the very best of black British music is whole heartedly celebrated, GRM is renowned as an influential launch pad for the country’s emerging and established talent. With over 4 billion YouTube views, 4 million subscribers and a social reach of over 3 million, GRM is the most viewed black British music channel and website in the UK.
The Rated Awards 2021 with YouTube Music will be streamed on Thursday 16th September @7pm BST, broadcast exclusively on GRM’s YouTube Channel
YouTube Music are the official sponsors of the Rated Awards 2021
Mixtape of the Year in association with Porte Noire
Breakthrough of the Year supported by BBC Radio 1Xtra
Female of the Year sponsored by +44 from Amazon Music
Male Artist of the Year sponsored by A Jewellers
Follow @GRMDAILY and @ratedawards on socials to keep up with all-things #RatedAwards
Album of the Year
AJ Tracey – Flu Game
Bugzy Malone – The Resurrection
D Block Europe – The Blueprint- Us Vs. Them
Fredo – Money Can’t Buy Happiness
Ghetts – Conflict of Interest
Headie One – EDNA
K Trap – Street Side Effects
Loski – Music, Trial and Trauma: A Drill Story
Nines – Crabs In A Bucket
slowthai – TYRON
Female Artist of the Year
Sponsored by +44 from Amazon Music
Bree Runway
Ivorian Doll
Jorja Smith
Lady Leshurr
Ms Banks
Stefflon Don
Midas The Jagaban
Male Artist of the Year
Sponsored by A Jewellers
AJ Tracey
Abra Cadabra
Central Cee
Digga D
Headie One
Potter Payper
Tion Wayne
Breakthrough of the Year
Supported by BBC Radio 1Xtra
BackRoad Gee
Central Cee
French The Kid
Pa Salieu
Personality of the Year
Big Zuu
Harry Pinero
Nella Rose
Michael Dapaah
Mo Gilligan
Munya Chawawa
Niko Omilana
Yung Filly
ZeZe Millz
Track of the Year
A1 & J1 – Latest Trends
Abra Cadabra – On Deck
Central Cee – Loading
Digga D – Woi
ENNY – Peng Black Girls (ft Amia Brave)
Headie One, Stormzy and AJ Tracey – Ain’t It Different
Nines – Airplane Mode (ft NSG)
Pa Salieu – My Family (ft BackRoad Gee)
Potter Payper – Purpose
Russ & Tion Wayne – Body
Video of the Year
Aitch – Safe To Say (Directed by KC Locke)
AJ Tracey – Little More Love (Directed by KC Locke)
Ghetts – Skengman Mode (ft. Stormzy) (Directed by Nathan James Tettey)
Headie One – Princess Cuts (ft. Young T & Bugsey) (Directed by Capone)
Little Simz – Introvert (Directed by Salomon Ligthelm)
Meekz – Respect The Come Up (Directed by KC Locke)
Nines – Clout (Directed by Charlie Di Placido)
Pa Salieu – My Family (ft. BackRoad Gee) (Directed by Femi Ladi)
Russ & Tion Wayne – Body (Directed by Wowa)
slowthai, Skepta – Cancelled (Directed by THE REST)
Mixtape of the Year
In Association with Porte Noire
Abra Cadabra – Product of My Environment
Central Cee – Wild West
Chip – Snakes and Ladders
Digga D – Made In The Pyrex
Giggs – Now Or Never
M Huncho & Nafe Smallz – DNA
NSG – Roots
Pa Salieu – Send Them To Coventry
Potter Payper – Training Day 3
Unknown T – Rise Above Hate
Radio DJ of the Year
Charlie Sloth
DJ Target
Henrie Kwushue
Kenny Allstar
Robert Bruce
Reece Parkinson
Snoochie Shy
Tiffany Calver
Yinka & Shayna Marie
Producer of the Year
5ive Beatz
Chris Rich