The MOBO Awards 2016 Winners List

MOBO Awards 2016

Glasgow hosted the 21st Birthday of the MOBO Awards last night showcasing the best talents of 2016 hosted by Rickie Haywood and Melvin Odoom.

The night also showcased its own Steve Harvey, Miss Universe moment when the presenters read out the wrong winner for the Best Song. WSTRN were wrongly given the award when they walked up to receive it to the sound of Abra Cadabra and Krept & Konan’s Robbery. Minutes later they revealed that the actual winner was Abra Cadarba – Robbery. Viewers on social media sites were fuming a the fact that it had been wrongly handed out.
Another massive highlight from the night was Section Boyz who picked up their second MOBO in two years for ‘Best Hip Hop Act’ and Chip winning ‘Best Grime Act’. A massive boost for the scene.
There were live performances on the night from Craig David, Laura Mvula, Lady Leshurr, Chase & Status, Clean Bandit, Anne-Marie, Popcaan, WSTRN, Section Boyz, Fekky & Izzy Bizu.

Congratulations to all winners and Nominess together you rae helping UK Underground Music break the traps of mainstream success and create another path for the younger generations to come.

Cant wait to see how will take the MOBO’s in 2017 !

MOBO 2016 Winners Below 

Best male act 
Craig David

Best female act
Lady Leshurr

Best newcomer

Best album
Kano ‘Made In The Manor’ 

Best hip-hop act
Section Boyz

Best song
Abra Cadabra ft Krept & Konan ‘Robbery (remix)

Best video
Nadia Rose ‘Skwod’ (Directed by Reece Proctol)

Best R&B/soul

Best grime act (in association with BBC Radio 1Xtra)

Best international act

Best jazz act
Esperanza Spalding

Best gospel act
Guvna B

Best reggae act

Best African act
Wiz Kid 

Paving the way
Nicola Adams and Ms. Dynamite


Words – Amandeep Basi – @SignorBasi


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here